Guidelines & Procedures
To identify and honor those persons and dogs, both past and present, whose accomplishments in Field Trial Competitions are exceptional, and whose contributions to the sport are outstanding.


1. The person must be at least 65 years old.
2. The person should have a significant record as a Field Trial competitor over a sustained period of time.
3. The person should have made a significant and sustained contribution to the sport by “giving back” through donation of time, resources and expertise, (for example: running trials, helping at trials, scribing, judging, providing grounds, encouraging and teaching newcomers, etc., etc.).
4. The person must have exhibited exceptional sportsmanship, integrity, and a history of unselfish giving to the sport.

1. The dog must be deceased.
2. The dog must have a distinguished Field Trial record, especially in one hour Championships.
3. The dog must have a record of producing outstanding progeny, both as a competitors and as producers.


Nomination and selection occurs on an annual basis. The nominations open January 1 and close August 31 annually. Any individual may nominate dogs and/or persons. It is the responsibility of the nominating person to all relevant data with regard to the nominees’ accomplishments, which will support why that person or dog deserves to be considered for this award.

Nomination forms are available on the NGSPA website ( or from the Committee Chairman. Completed forms and supporting documentation must be received by the Chairman by the first of September (September 1) each year. If a nominee is not selected to enter “The Hall” in the year nominated, the nominee will remain eligible for consideration for two (2) additional years. Thus, a nomination is valid for three (3) years, at which time, it will expire if the nominee has not been selected into the Hall of Fame. Nominations will not be accepted for a nominee that fails to be selected in the first three year period until a minimum of three (3) years after the expiration of the first nomination.


The Selection Committee is comprised of individuals who are selected for their experience, character and integrity in German Shorthaired Pointer field trials, and in breeding superior German Shorthaired Pointers. Their decision on the merits of nominees are independent and kept anonymous. Each year’s Honorees will be announced no later than the first of December annually. Individuals elected to the selection committee will serve a 3 year term, and be eligible for one more consecutive second 3 year term.


Those selected will be formally inducted at ceremonies held at the Hall of Fame (Bird Dog Museum) in Grand Junction, Tennessee, on the Saturday before the beginning of the Pointer National Championship.

Committee members & their dog(s) are ineligible for nomination to the Hall of Fame during their service on the committee.


• While the GSP Hall of Fame Selection Committee services at the pleasure of the NGSPA Board of Trustees, its decisions regarding inductees are to be totally independent of the board influence.
• It’s operational procedures and membership are subject to the BOT approval.
• The maximum size of the committee is 15.


• The Chairman will be responsible to advise the Board of Committee resignations, and to present nominees to the Board for Approval.
• The Chairman will serve as the GSOP representative and present the inductees at the official induction ceremony.
• The Chairman will present proposed changes to procedures and processes to the BOT for approval.
• The Committee Chairman will provide a report at the annual BOT meeting.


Don Kidd (Chairman), Mike Aldrich, Tom Davis, Terry Chandler, Eldon Hongo, Dan Hoke, Jack Halford, Gene Mosley, Pete Kainz, John Rabidou, Fred Ryan, Robert Reynolds, Bill Mengert, Kevin Wade

The specific interest in honoring the dogs and people who excelled in the field trial sport began in the late 1930's. Those involved knew that time and careful consideration would be needed in formulating the rules and regulations needed to bestow an honor of excellence on dogs and their owners, trainers and handlers.

In 1953, William  F. (Bill) Brown, editor of The American Field, compiled the necessary rules and regulations governing elections of the field trial dogs and their owners and trainers to a proposed Field Trial Hall of Fame. The list was published in Brown's Field Trials: History, Management and Judging Standards in the anticipation that hall of fame would be established.

In the June 19,1954 issue of The American Field, Brown announced that the Field Trial Hall of Fame had become a reality and nominations were taken.

Dogs were eligible based in their entire careers. People were nominated based in their service and the length of time devoted to the field trial sport. Nominations could be made in two categories.

1. Distinguished Bird Dogs deceased
2. Prominent Persons living or deceased

The first year to vote for inductees was 1954, and the election committee considered a popular vote of ten dogs and ten persons from the nomination ballot. Bird Dog enthusiasts elected five dogs and five people into the Field Trial Hall of Fame that year. In 1955, two dogs and two people were elected and inducted. This marked the beginning of a tradition that continues at the annual Field Trial Hall of Fame.

Old-Timer Hall of Fame Inductees

The Pioneers
These men were the original pioneers of this breed here in the United States.

  • Dr. Charles R Thornton from Missoula, MT (1925). He acquired an interest in the term All Purpose Dog. His Father told him as a young boy a dog is worth keeping only for what he can do. Thus, he decided to import for himself a few of these dogs. His first import, Senta B Hohenbruck, in whelp. The pups were born on July 4, 1925. There were 6 pups and these pups went on to produce the base stock of many of our dogs today.
  • Mr. Walter Mangold and Mr. Ernest Rojem, both WWI veterans (1931). Mangold served in the American armty and Rojem served in the German army. They met in Bennington, NE and became the best of friends. Both were interest int he German breed and decided to import a few to hunt with. Rojem had a brother, Peter, in Germany and he shipped the best that he could find. He shipped Claus B Schleswig and Jane v Grunen Adler. These dogs went on to consistently produce great dogs.
  • Mr. Joseph Burkhart from St Croix Falls, WI (1932). He was a German Game Keeper and had connections in German to buy and import the best that could be bred. He imported Arta v Hohreusch. He sold many purebred GSP's and took the time to teach people how to correctly line breed German Shorthaires to improve the breed. Treu v Waldwinkel and Fritz v Schwarenberg, both were sons of Arta and produced many great German Shorthaired Pointers.
The Fore-Fathers of the NGSPA

Those responsible for the formation and securing the by-laws and articles of incorporation, for spending timeless and tireless hours so that we could enjoy the fruits of those noblest endeavors.

  • Mr. Paul Sharp - The first Present to represent the NGSPA in all formal matters.
  • Mr. Van Van Divort - the first Secretary and devoted GSP Field Trialer. He made connections with Bill Brown of the American Field and got recognition for Championship stakes.
  • Mr. Lenard Hansen - the first Treasurer of the NGSPA - pushed hard to see that the National Championship was run at Kildare Plains, OH
  • Mr. Henry Weiss - The first Honorary Trustee - performed the duties of organizing local clubs to support the National organization. His financial support to cover the expenses of this new organization was paramount in keeping the organization on a sound and fiscal course